Photos, Doubt, and Bobby Hundreds

This.Is.Perfect. And surely will help a lot of girls struggling with low self-esteem! Anna is amazing and adorable.

Anna Shinoda

I am an author.  I represent myself through words, through stories.  I am not a model.  I am not an actress.  When you turn a camera on me, I’m most likely to make a funny face, or at the very least, smile.  In fact, I can probably count my posed, serious photos on one hand.

And yet, as an author I have written a serious novel on a somber topic, and when my publisher asked for a picture to represent me, and my novel, I needed to take a serious photo.  The hair was flat ironed, the make-up was applied, the dress was put on.  I did it all myself, and second guessed it the whole way.

A candid picture captures a moment, but a portrait is set up to make a moment.  We all try to look our best in a portrait.

And what if our best isn’t good…

View original post 363 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

